CHATEAU & JARDINS – VERSAILLES

The Chateau at Versailles is beyond decadent and proves true it’s reputation in exuding gross indulgence. The entire estate is stunning, and even though there were multiple renovations going on – and we were packed in like sardines – nothing could ruin my experience. Everything was awe-inspiring as we walked through the golden gate to the enter The Chateau.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

The kids (our niece and nephew, 8 and 5 years old) had a hard time viewing (or even enjoying) most of the palace itself. The crowds of taller, pushy adult tourists made it difficult for the kids. It wasn’t until we reached the outside gardens that their little imaginations ran wild. There are special events (i.e. fireworks and live music) through out the summer months as well, that would all be incredibly fun for any age. Inside the palace, Marie Antoinette’s bed chamber (bedroom) is quite beautiful and intricate. I honestly was not a huge fan of the pale pink and sage green floral prints, but none the less, it was pretty awesome.

Throughout the room there are multiple works of art and a lot of gold. I mean, A LOT of gold. Gold is everywhere. And so are chandeliers. Sigh, the true princess palace of any little girls dreams. I mean, I was a tomboy who loved dinosaurs and this place was even getting to me. I recommend a viewing to anyone who loves a pretty thing or two, movies about the time period, Marie Antoinette or exquisite museums.

The chapel of the Chateau was the next room and is seen from inside the palace, through large (floor to ceiling sized) doors. You are not able to physically walk inside the chapel, and words simply can’t describe its beauty. Religious or not, it was a spiritual sight to witness.

What follows is The Hall of Mirrors. This is by far my favorite room in the whole palace. The construction started in 1678 and the final product exudes pure light. 17 wall-size mirrors reflect 17 similar arch-shaped windows that view the gardens. Each mirror is composed of 21 smaller mirrors, making a total of 357 mirrors in the hall (just a quick little mathematical history lesson for you). I thought about all the stories, lessons and movies I had known in accordance to this room. I stood in the middle, staring with my jaw literally dropped in awe. As I listened to my sister-in-law translate the captions to the murals painted on the ceiling I thought, “ya know, I kinda have to pee”.

I wondered “what happens when their drinking all their Champagne and they have to pee during their super fancy parties in here? Where in the hell were the bathrooms? You would like to think King Louis XIV would have sprung for a golden toilet, or two”. My husband just laughed and pointed towards the large, blood red curtains and stated “There Sweety”.

Wait, WHAT? So, they go number 1 AND number 2, behind the curtains?! In a bucket or something? Gross. Gross, gross, gross. Gross. Imagine how bad it smelled? Human waste mixed with probably way too much perfume. My thoughts were taken away from the glamor and straight to the real issues in life: Always find the exits, know where the BATHROOMS are and never leave the house without your underwear (thank you to my Mom’s Life Lesson Handbook, Chapter 1).

Grateful for modern toilets (and not having to lift those over-sized dresses up to tinkle), I marched on. I managed a few photos of the luminescent chandeliers and after seeing more incredibly talented sculptures, arched marble hallways and The Kings Chamber (decorated in luscious red and dark greens), we went outside to The Gardens.

Our tickets for the Chateau and the gardens were purchased separately (at each entrance) but there are multiple options available in advance. The Gardens themselves are even bigger than the palace and it was fun to watch our 8 year old niece get so excited to be our guide. My love for the film “The Secret Garden” was remembered and my sense for adventure was sparked by being with the kids. They truly can be the best little travel buddies.

As you run through the tree covered maze, classical music plays around every corner. This is done with excellent speakers and sounds as if there is a live band playing in the center (near the Latone Fountain). There are magnificent sculptures and statues throughout, but the fountains were definitely my favorite additions outside. On weekends from late spring to early fall the administration sponsors Grandes Eaux, a show with all of the fountains together in full play.

We watched a smaller fountain show near the concessions and afterwards stopped for the adults to have a coffee, and the kids some sugar. It was a good day. A really good day. I had the man of my heart, my new family and an ever-growing adoration for my new home, France.

So, merci beaucoup to The Kings, The Queens, the artists and to all the people of France. Much of what happened to this country so this grand estate could exist was horrible. Let that not be forgotten, but remembered, if you ever visit Versailles yourself. I urge you to appreciate all of the art, the craftsmanship and history it has to offer. I would also save some room in your bags for the gift shop on the way out. It’s pretty amazing.image

Leave a comment